top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnisha Bhatia

For The Love Of DIYs: Bottle Art And Creativity


On one random weekend, sitting at a dining table, I decided to grab some empty glass bottles that were lying in my storeroom, some acrylic paints, random magazines, scissors….Result was the start of my DIY creative journey of the bottle painting. I remember how excited I was to see pretty pastel colours in my hand, I couldn’t wait to start painting the bottles…


What I Did In Next 10 Minutes (Pure Joy):


1. Made use of Chivas Regal empty bottle

2. Apply the base coat of pastel blue paint..oh so pretty!

3. I had a box of some unused tissue that I bought from London, so I decided to grab it and paste it on my bottle


Here’s a quick look at my first bottle of art…




How I Did It:


I didn’t have time to buy brushes so I simply used a sponge to paint my bottle and the effect it gave was absolutely and I would say much better than a brush. After I was done painting the bottle, I simply applied few drops of water at the edges of the tissue paper and cut it abruptly with hands to give it a rough look….Then I simply pasted the tissue on my bottle, voila! My first bottle was done..




Things I Used:


1. Fevicryl Acrylic Colors, Pearl Kit – I made use of shade light blue

2. Piece of sponge to paint the bottle

3. Pidilite Fevicryl modge podge gloss as a glue for sticking – For this type of art, you just can’t survive on any normal fevicol or glue. One needs this, what I call a magic glue. Why? Because you simply apply the glue over the tissue or paper cutting you are pasting on your bottle and cover it up. It vanishes like a genie and ends up giving your bottle painting a magic vintage touch

4. Scissors and designer tissue


And as soon as I was done painting my first bottle, I decided to take another bottle in hand and do another creativity. So I repeated mostly all the steps, only this time decided to paint the bottle differently and apply a different tissue paper.




How I learned about this art…This simple art of colouring and decorating objects with paper cut-outs is actually called – decoupage.


Professionally, I write stories on the environment, thanks to my work, I had a chance of interviewing an artist from Kerala Bindu Joy, who taught me words like upcycling and decoupage. Once I dig deep into this, I realised this is so easy, all i do is find some waste from my home and decorate in my own way..Result is my DIY bottle painting corner..(Sharing those pics in my next blog soon)





0 comments

Comments


bottom of page